Malcolm Turnbull – Australian Prime Minister

By Narendra V

Malcolm Turnbull


Malcolm Bligh Turnbull is 29th and current Prime Minister of Australia. He is an MP for Wentworth since 2004 and is leader of Liberal Party of Australia. Turnbull was born in Sydney on 24th October 1954. His father Bruce Bligh Turnbull was a hotel broker, and his mother Coral Magnolia Lansbury was a radio actor.

Early Life and Education

When he was nine his parents divorced, and he was raised by his father. He attended Vaucluse Public School and Sydney Grammar School. He graduated in BA from University of Sydney in1977.Then Bachelor of Laws in 1978. In University he was active in student politics. After graduation he won scholarship and attended Brasenose College, Oxford. There he graduated in civil law.

After returning from Oxford he started practicing in Sydney. In1983 he became counsel to Australian Consolidated Press. In 1985 he started his own law firm Turnbull McWilliam. He became famous when he defended British secret service agent for publishing his book Spycatcher in Australia.

In 1987 he started Investment banking firm Whitlam Turnbull & Co Ltd. He started Internet Service Provider start up OzEmail, which went on to become one of the top service providers in Australia. Turnbull became managing director of Goldman Sachs Australia in1997.

Entry into politics

In 1981 he wanted to contest for Parliament from Wentworth but was not selected in internal Liberal Party selections. He was Chairman of Australian Republican Movement from 1993 to 2000. He actively participated in the movement to make Australia a Republic and removing authority of British Queen from Australian Government. But failed in his attempt as 1999 referendum for Republic was rejected by people of Australia.

In 2004 he was elected to Parliament from Wentworth. He was appointed as Minister for Environment by then Prime Minister John Howard in 2007. In the same year federal elections Liberal Party lost to Labor Party but Turnbull won from Wentworth again and became Leader of Opposition.

In 2010 elections he was elected to parliament for third time.

In 2013 Federal elections Liberal party won and Tony Abbott became Prime Minister and he appointed Turnbull as Communications Minister.

In February 2015 due to low opinion poll ratings and questions over Tony Abbott’s leadership arised and spill motion was put up in Parliament against Abbott. The motion was defeated but Liberal party decided to change the leadership. Turnbull defeated Abbott in internal elections of party to become 29th Prime Minister of Australia.


Home  |   Terms and Conditions  |   Privacy Policy  |   Jobs  |   Follow Us :  Twitter   Facebook   Google Plus   YouTube  
CopyRights 2011 - 2023 @ SJRANJAN. All Rights Reserved . Powered by SJRANJAN.